Schedule

The course Syllabus is on a separate page.

Schedule / Itinerary:
Day 1 (Sat, June 6): Arrive in Chiang Mai; Check in to hotel; Meet in Eurana Lobby at 6 PM for an orientation meeting followed by a nearby Welcome Dinner
Day 2 (Sun, June 7): Adjustment to Chiang Mai – Explore & Enjoy!
Day 3 (Mon, June 8): Group Breakfast at 8:30 AM & Begin Volunteering with Local Organizations; 1st Reflection Session in Lobby at 6 PM
Day 4 (Tues, June 9): Volunteer
Day 5 (Wed, June 10): Volunteer
Day 6 (Thurs, June 11): Volunteer; 2nd Reflection Session in Lobby at 6 PM
Day 7 (Fri, June 12): Intro to Mindfulness Meditation at nearby Bodhi Tree Cafe at 10 AM (meet in the Lobby at 9:45 AM, earlier if you want breakfast); Volunteer
Day 8 (Sat, June 13): Field Trip to Craft Factories, likely including silk, cotton, lacquerware, silver, celadon, paper/umbrellas, etc. (meet for breakfast around 9:30 AM, depart at 10 AM; bring water, snacks, and money as well as anything you might want to get painted by the artists at the paper/umbrellas factory). Group veg lunch included.Smiling Abby at the umbrella factory showing off her cell phone case painted with an elephant scene

Day 9 (Sun, June 14): Free Time to Explore Chiang Mai
Day 10 (Mon, June 15): Volunteer; 3rd Reflection Session in Lobby at 6 PM
Day 11 (Tues, June 15): Chiang Mai University?
Day 12 (Wed, June 17): Volunteer; Group Dinner at 7 PM (meet in the Lobby at 6:40 PM)
Day 13 (Thurs, June 18): Volunteer; 4th Reflection Session in Lobby at 6 PM
Day 14 (Fri, June 19): Group Breakfast at 7:30 AM; Overnight Field Trip to Elephant Nature Park (we’ll depart around 8 AM, so be in the Lobby before then) (bring water for hydration and bring sun lotion and bug repellent, if desired, and dramamine if you’re susceptible to car/motion sickness). Veg buffet meals included. Everything else is irrelephant.
Day 15 (Sat, June 20): Return from Elephant Nature Park; Summer SolsticeP1030312.JPG
Day 16 (Sun, June 21): Free time to Explore Chiang Mai; Fathers’ Day in the U.S.
Day 17 (Mon, June 22): Volunteer; 5th Reflection Session in Lobby at 6 PM
Day 18 (Tues, June 23): Volunteer
Day 19 (Wed, June 24): Group Breakfast at 7:30 AM and All-Day Trek with lots of hiking, time at a waterfall, veg lunch in a village, and then relaxing bamboo rafting (wear bathing suit under clothes for waterfall/swimming/rafting; wear good comfortable shoes for a long hike; bring water for hydration and snacks; bring sun lotion and bug repellent, if desired, and dramamine if you’re susceptible to car/motion sickness)walking across a makeshift bridge in the beautiful Thai countryside
Day 20 (Thurs, June 25): Free time to enjoy Chiang Mai
Day 21 (Fri, June 26): Monk Chat at Mahachulalongkornrajavidayalaya University (MCU) at Wat Suan Dok from 10 – 11:30 AM (Dress temple-appropriate and meet in Lobby at 9:40 AM); 6th/Final Reflection Session and Group Debrief in Lobby at 6 PM
Day 22 (Sat, June 27): Group Breakfast of Exile at 9 AM; Program Concludes After Breakfast

Course, program, syllabus, schedule, website, all text, and all photos © DB 2019 Common Era (2562 Buddhist Era). As with life itself, all information in this schedule and on this website is subject to change. All rights reserved. Enjoy the journey!