Schedule

The course Syllabus is on a separate page.

“An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered.
An inconvenience is only an adventure wrongly considered.”
— G. K. Chesterton

All official group activities, events, excursions, transportation, and meals are included in the program at no additional cost.

Schedule / Itinerary for HoT 2021:
Day 1 (Sat, May 29): Arrive in Chiang Mai; Check in to Eurana Hotel; Meet in Eurana Lobby at 6 PM for an orientation meeting followed by a nearby Welcome Dinner
Day 2 (Sun, May 30): Adjustment to Chiang Mai – Explore & Enjoy!
Day 3 (Mon, May 31): Group Breakfast at 8:30 AM & Begin Volunteering with Local Organizations; 1st Reflection Session in Lobby at 6 PM
Day 4 (Tues, June 1): Volunteer
Day 5 (Wed, June 2): Volunteer
Day 6 (Thurs, June 3): Volunteer; 2nd Reflection Session in Lobby at 6 PM
Day 7 (Fri, June 4): Intro to Mindfulness Meditation at nearby Bodhi Tree Cafe at 10 AM (meet in the Lobby at 9:45 AM, earlier if you want breakfast); Volunteer


Day 8 (Sat, June 5): Field Trip to Craft Factories, likely including silk, cotton, lacquerware, silver, celadon, paper/umbrellas, etc. (meet for breakfast around 9:30 AM, depart at 10 AM; bring water, snacks, and money as well as anything you might want to get painted by the artists at the paper/umbrellas factory). Group veg lunch included.Smiling Abby at the umbrella factory showing off her cell phone case painted with an elephant scene

Day 9 (Sun, June 6): Free Time to Explore Chiang Mai
Day 10 (Mon, June 7): Volunteer; 3rd Reflection Session in Lobby at 6 PM
Day 11 (Tues, June 8): Chiang Mai University?
Day 12 (Wed, June 9): Volunteer; Group Dinner at 7 PM (meet in the Lobby at 6:40 PM)
Day 13 (Thurs, June 10): Volunteer; 4th Reflection Session in Lobby at 6 PM
Day 14 (Fri, June 11): Group Breakfast at 7:30 AM; Overnight Field Trip to Elephant Nature Park (we’ll depart around 8 AM, so be in the Lobby before then) (bring water for hydration and bring sun lotion and bug repellent, if desired, dramamine if you’re susceptible to car/motion sickness, and whatever personal items you need for an overnight adventure). Veg buffet meals included. Everything else is irrelephant!
Day 15 (Sat, June 12): Return from Elephant Nature ParkP1030312.JPG
Day 16 (Sun, June 13): Free time to Explore Chiang Mai
Day 17 (Mon, June 14): Volunteer; 5th Reflection Session in Lobby at 6 PM
Day 18 (Tues, June 15): Volunteer
Day 19 (Wed, June 16): Group Breakfast at 7:30 AM and All-Day Trek with lots of hiking, time at a waterfall, veg lunch in a village, and then relaxing bamboo rafting (wear a swimsuit under clothes for waterfall/swimming/rafting; wear good comfortable shoes for a long hike; bring water for hydration and snacks; bring sun lotion and bug repellent, if desired, and dramamine if you’re susceptible to car/motion sickness)walking across a makeshift bridge in the beautiful Thai countryside
Day 20 (Thurs, June 17): Free time to enjoy Chiang Mai
Day 21 (Fri, June 18): Monk Chat at Mahachulalongkornrajavidayalaya University (MCU) at Wat Suan Dok from 10 – 11:30 AM (Dress temple-appropriate and meet in Lobby at 9:40 AM); 6th/Final Reflection Session and Group Debrief in Lobby at 6 PM
Day 22 (Sat, June 19: Juneteenth): Group Breakfast of Exile at 9 AM; Program Concludes After Breakfast

FYI: Sunday, June 20: Fathers Day in the U.S.; Thursday, June 24: Full Moon

If there is ever anything you would like to say, discuss, clarify, ask, request, ponder, or anything else, please feel free to contact me or anyone else who might be appropriate or useful.

Course, program, syllabus, schedule, website, all text, and all photos © DB 2020 Common Era (2563 Buddhist Era). As with life itself, all information in this schedule, syllabus, course, and on this website is subject to change. All rights reserved. Enjoy the journey!